top of page

A Conversation with Spencer Howard


Now that Down and Yonder is about to wrap up, I wanted to take the (little bit) of downtime we have in order to talk with other filmmakers about the craft .

I first met Spencer Howard at the Chattanooga Film Festival in 2014. I was there to screen my short, The Future West, and he was there as the main contributor for his film site, Film Dispenser. I instantly recognized the same passion for storytelling and really responded to his writing and insight.

Over the last couple of years, Spencer has transitioned into a filmmaker in his own right, first with the short, Say Hello, and now its follow-up, Braised. Both are excellent, and I was glad to see that the same passion that he showed over at Film Dispenser is now evident in his shorts.

Recently, we switched roles, and I got the opportunity to ask him a few questions about filmmaking-

Chris: What was the initial spark that drew you into film? Was there a certain film that you remembered lighting the fire?

Spencer: I grew up watching movies, as many aspiring filmmakers do. The film experience that gilded my love of cinema as both art and storytelling above all others was a seventh grade viewing of The Godfather. It changed the balance of my movie watching chemistry and unlocked a desire for as much cinema as humanly possible.

Chris: Tell us a little bit about Say Hello and Braised.

Spencer: Say Hello was my first short film, a sort of dark romance. Braised is the follow up and the second part in what is conceived as a five part series of shorts. The goal was to try my hand at filmmaking and use each part as an opportunity to take new and more difficult risks. Say Hello played at the Chattanooga Film Festival and The Way Down Film Festival and is currently available on Vimeo. We are still working on the release of Braised.

Chris: Your background is in film criticism. What was it like shifting your focus toward filmmaking?

Spencer: It's hard, and it's an ongoing struggle. I hit a point where I had to choose where I wanted to put my mental effort. Do I continue to digest and discuss other's films, or do I focus that creative space toward creations of my own? Objectivity with an understanding of my subjectivity is key in my critical style. My work is all subjective by definition of it being my work. Letting that objectivity go has been the biggest hurdle. My first drafts are personal and need to be so I can hone them down. If I nitpick during the initial draft, I never finish. The experience in criticism is an asset to editing and viewing my work. I can see the flaws easily and immediately even though it's my work, but it's an asset best accessed on draft two. I also go into films a different way now that I have shifted more toward filmmaking and away from criticism. I'm freed up to inspiration in a way that criticism didn't fully allow.

Chris: Where did you get the idea(s) for Say Hello and Braised? Was there an initial source of inspiration?

Spencer: Say Hello was born out of need. I needed to make a short film. I needed to complete it and see it through. I've wanted to for over a decade, and it was time to take the step as the birth of my son approached. So, I decided to make a set of rules that would allow me to complete a short no matter what. 1. Zero budget. 2. One Location. 3. No sound (audio was a technical and budget hurdle that would stop me if not perfect). 4. It had to have a twist ending (for a creative challenge). The result was a character I love to write and a plan to progressively challenge that character and our technical capabilities.

Regarding Say Hello and Braised, what were the greatest challenges? Any pleasant surprises?

Scheduling. Scheduling. Scheduling. Our female actor cancelled at the last second. My son was born and our shooting date had to be moved. On Braised, I messed up and scheduled a family visit on the weekend of the shoot. (I need an assistant) But it all worked out in the long run and the shoots were energetic and wonderful experiences with a tight, small crew.

What are you working on next?

I finished a feature script that my writing partner and I are submitting around, and I'm working on a feature script of my own. My next full project will most likely be a very different and personal film much more in line with the films that inspire me most. I love good horror films, but that I'm working in that genre has become a joke around my house.

Let's pretend that budgets, scheduling, and other limitations are not an issue. What is your dream project?

A feature adaptation of the song Long Black Veil with Kristen Stewart, Oscar Issac, and Mark Duplass as the love triangle and Bill Murray as the judge. My first screenplay attempt was this adaption, and it was my first work lost by technology revolting. I've always wanted to tackle that again.

And, finally, let's switch it up a bit and shift from filmmakers to just film fans. What movies are out there right now that you would you recommend? Is there a film out there that ought to be getting more attention?

We're in this part of the year where the good movies are blockbusters so I don't know how much I need to tout Logan as a great film based on a comic book character. This is also the time when last year's gems hit VOD. Check out American Honey and Swiss Army Man. These films were loved by film twitter but general audiences missed them. Swiss Army Man is free on Amazon Prime. It's genius and funny and beautiful. A true original. I'm most excited for Olivier Assayas's Personal Shopper which is out in limited release now and can't wait for The Beguiled from Sofia Coppola. On the opposite side of the coin, I'll be first in line for The Fate of the Furious and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 two over the next few months.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page